These are my novel publishers to date:

Del Rey Books

Avon Books

Onyx Books

(A division of NAL)

Tor Books logo
Tor Books

Wildside Press logo
Wildside Press
Reprints only:
FoxAcre Press logo
Fictionwise logo
Remove frames
More About the Novels of Lawrence Watt-Evans

The table below is a list of all the novels to date published under the name Lawrence Watt-Evans, with some basic information about each, and links to the pages about the individual novels, and about the series they're in.

Below that, I'm including a list of book club editions. I'm also working up a list of who did all the cover art, but that's going to go on a separate page.

At one point I talked about including links to reviews of my work, but over the dozen years this webpage has been accumulating, I've discovered that online reviews have a tendency to disappear, and I can't spare the time to keep such a list up to date. Rather than give you a list of largely-dead links, I've abandoned the idea. Sorry about that.

So, beyond what I have here, what would you like to see? Tell me!

Abbreviations used:
  • pb = mass market/rack-sized paperback
  • hc = hardcover
  • lhc = limited-edition hardcover
  • tp = trade paperback
  • eb = e-book
  • om = included in a hardcover omnibus
  • cs = coming soon (i.e., scheduled for publication within a year)

Novels listed alphabetically

TitleOriginal publicationCurrent U.S. editionsGenreSeries
The Blood of a DragonDel Rey, 1991 (pb)Wildside (tp, eb)fantasyLegends of Ethshar
The Book of SilenceDel Rey, 1984 (pb)Wildside (tp,eb, om)fantasyThe Lords of Dus
The Chromosomal CodeAvon, 1984 (pb)nonescience fictionnone
The Cyborg and the SorcerersDel Rey, 1982 (pb)nonescience fictionWar Surplus
Denner's WreckAvon, 1988 (pb)Fictionwise (eb)science fictionnone
The Dragon SocietyTor, 2001 (hc)Tor (pb)fantasyThe Obsidian Chronicles
Dragon VenomTor, 2003 (hc)Tor (pb)fantasyThe Obsidian Chronicles
Dragon WeatherTor, 1999 (hc)Tor (pb)fantasyThe Obsidian Chronicles
In the Empire of ShadowDel Rey, 1995 (tp)Wildside (tp, om)crossoverWorlds of Shadow
Ithanalin's RestorationTor, 2002 (hc)Tor (pb)fantasyLegends of Ethshar
The Lure of the BasiliskDel Rey, 1980 (pb)Wildside (tp, eb, om)fantasyThe Lords of Dus
The Misenchanted SwordDel Rey, 1985 (pb)Wildside (tp, eb, pb cs)fantasyLegends of Ethshar
The Nightmare PeopleOnyx, 1990 (pb)Wildside (tp, eb)horrornone
Night of MadnessTor, 2000 (hc)Tor (pb)fantasyLegends of Ethshar
Nightside CityDel Rey, 1989 (pb)FoxAcre (tp)
Fictionwise (eb)
science fictionnone
The Ninth TalismanTor, 2007 (hc)Tor (hc)fantasyAnnals of the Chosen
Out of This WorldDel Rey, 1994 (hc)Wildside (tp, om)crossoverWorlds of Shadow
The Rebirth of WonderTor, 1992 (pb)
Wildside, 1992 (lhc)
Wildside (lhc)fantasynone
The Reign of the Brown MagicianDel Rey, 1996 (pb)Wildside (tp, om)crossoverWorlds of Shadow
The Seven Altars of DusarraDel Rey, 1981 (pb)Wildside (tp, eb, om)fantasyThe Lords of Dus
Shining SteelAvon, 1986 (pb)Fictionwise (eb)science fictionnone
The Spartacus FileWildside, 2005 (hc, tp)Wildside (hc, tp)Science fictioncollaboration with Carl Parlagreco
The Spell of the Black DaggerDel Rey, 1993 (pb)Wildside (tp, eb)fantasyLegends of Ethshar
Split HeirsTor, 1993 (hc)Tor (pb)fantasycollaboration with Esther M. Friesner
The Spriggan MirrorWildside, 2007 (tp*)Wildside/Cosmos (tp, pb, eb)fantasyLegends of Ethshar
The Summer PalaceTor, 2008 (hc)None yetfantasyAnnals of the Chosen
The Sword of BheleuDel Rey, 1983 (pb)Wildside (tp, eb, om)fantasyThe Lords of Dus
Taking FlightDel Rey, 1993 (pb)Wildside (tp, eb)fantasyLegends of Ethshar
Touched by the GodsTor, 1997 (hc)Tor (pb)fantasynone
The Unwilling WarlordDel Rey, 1989 (pb)Wildside (tp, eb)fantasyLegends of Ethshar
With A Single SpellDel Rey, 1987 (pb)Wildside (tp, eb)fantasyLegends of Ethshar
The Wizard and the War MachineDel Rey, 1987 (pb)nonescience fictionWar Surplus
The Wizard LordTor, 2006 (hc)Tor (pb)fantasyAnnals of the Chosen

* This was preceded by two different electronic editions: An online serialization of the first draft in 2005, and an appearance of the complete novel in the February 2006 issue of the now-dead webzine Son & Foe.

The table above does not include book club editions, which are generally not first appearance and which are all, to the best of my knowledge, out of print at the moment. Some readers, however, might be interested in knowing what's out there, so here's a list. These were all published by the Science Fiction Book Club.

The Misenchanted Page
Front Page | Main Site | Discussion | Guestbook | E-mail me!


[SFF Net Member]